awareness jpeg

Have you ever walked through places, especially familiar places, places you walk every day, and not even know what had happened along the way?

Have you ever gone through the day doing routine stuffs, especially stuffs you do every day, and not noticed anything at all?

Do you go through life too preoccupied with the chatters in your mind tat you are not even aware of the beauty of the world around you anymore?

I used to, and sometimes when it felt like my mind is chattering non-stop like a hamster wheel, I pulled out my phone and scroll through social media, desperate for distraction from all the noise created by none other, but me.

“…every day was the same, and when each day is the same as the next, it’s because people fail to recognize the good things that happen in their lives every day that the sun rises.” – The Alchemist

It was up until a friend bought me The Alchemist.

alchemist

“Never stop dreaming,” said the king. “Follow the omens.” – The Alchemist

Whenever I was in a bad rut in the past, I will curse and swear and ask why these sort of things happen to me. When I receive awful news, my mind will go into all sorts of places and bewilder myself, wondering of all people, why me?

“The secret is here in the present. If you pay attention to the present, you can improve upon it. And, if you improve on the present, what comes later will also be better.” – The Alchemist

But the truth is, I had never pay attention to the omens to learn what the Universe is trying to teach me. I just want all the dreadful things to stop happening, so I can live happily ever after in the fairyland. But in actuality, if I long to get where I aspire to go, I have to become the person I had to be, so not just that I will get there, but I will be able to handle whatever comes in my way when I’m there.

And funnily enough, Universe has its own humor, and those dreadful things will keep happening to you, until you learn and overcome them.

So, if you have dreams and goals, people, don’t just go through day after day like you are in a hamster wheel. Open your eyes and consciousness, observe the omens and what it’s trying to tell you, good or bad. If you do and follow them closely, the Universe will reward you handsomely.

